Teach love by loving

Random thought:

I am not afraid to spoil my kids by letting them know how much I love them. I do it a lot, on some days it feels like I do it all the time. I tell them I love them, and I hug and kiss them, as well. Every single time. Physical affection is very important. Am I worried I am raising sissies who never know pain and will be disappointed when they get out there, into the “real” wild and mean world? No, I am not. I am raising kids who will know that love feels good, that it is ok to say ‘I love you’ to those they actually care about, and it is ok to accept love from others.

I don’t remember my mom doing this with me, I don’t remember random hugs, kisses, and ‘I love you’s. And until this day I can not force myself to tell her these words that she expects to hear from me. I know she wants me to, but I just can’t, I physically can’t, it just feels too foreign to me.

Please, shower your kids with love. Don’t be tough parents, don’t hide your feelings, make them known. You are only doing your kids a huge favor. You are teaching them LOVE. And that is the most important lesson in life. From my experience, anyway. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Teach love by loving

  1. I never had such affection from my parents too. Therefore it’s very hard for me to say those words to them. That’s definitely something I wanted to change for my kids.

Leave a Reply

