Being you is enough

20130627-213822.jpg

Stumbled upon this article yesterday. It made me laugh and cry at the same time. It is not even that I feel like this, I don’t, maybe because I am not on Pinterest or Twitter, so I have no idea what that does to your state of mind. Well, I do have a blog but I am nothing close to being perfect. Nor do I believe that perfection exists as a general commonly-accepted set of qualities and characteristics found in the same person. Perfection is about having your kids laugh with you and, maybe, even at you sometimes. It is about creating simple yet enjoyable memories that you all will be looking back on with smiles on your faces. It is about being there for your family in happiness and sadness. It is about spending those extra moments you have in your day doing things you all enjoy. And if it is something worthy of Pinterest and it comes effortlessly, and no one sacrifices anything, then be it. But if it something that would never get on Pinterest (like having a messy house and frozen pizza once in a while, yet everyone LOVES those days), then BE IT TOO. Do you see my point? 😉

Full text found here: http://powerofmoms.com/2012/04/your-children-want-you/

“There’s this crazy phenomenon going on right now. Good, devoted mothers get on Pinterest . . . and blogs . . . and Facebook . . . and Twitter . . . and then they flip through parenting magazines and TV channels (full of advertisements and media hype) . . . and they’re convinced they’re not enough.

Last Saturday, this happened to me.
I came home from a lovely day out with my extended family and had serious intentions to spend the evening dyeing Easter eggs and making bunny buns.
By the time I got everyone settled and fed, however, I was so tired that I just laid on the couch and dozed while my children played and got themselves to bed.

My mom is in her 70s, and her memory is starting to go. Her sweetness and love are as strong as ever, but when we talk on the phone, she can’t remember the last time we spoke or the last time we saw each other.
“I miss being able to talk to you, Mom. I miss laying on the grass while my children make a hopscotch and savoring our long phone conversations. I miss you remembering all those secrets I used to tell you. I miss you asking me if I’m okay. I miss seeing you read books and hearing you sing while you do the dishes and having you drive out to my house without getting lost. I miss you remembering how much I need you.”
My mother didn’t specialize in home decor or gourmet cooking, and she didn’t lift weights or run marathons. But she makes me feel like I am the most important, wonderful person everlofborn. If I could pick any mother in the whole world, it would be my mom.

If you ever find yourself looking in the mirror at a woman who feels badly that she hasn’t yet made flower-shaped soap, please offer her this helpful reminder: “Your children want you!”

Photo: John Benson (Flickr)

Leave a Reply

