How to make a tutu

20130223-090254.jpg

I made my daughter a tutu. It was so fun and gave me an opportunity to get creative. Never knew I would be able to make one. Turns out I could, and you can too.

I didn’t want to order the materials online and wait indefinitely, and instead went to Walmart. What do you know, they sell tulle rolls in the crafts/fabrics section. I decided to go for a ribbon-tie version instead of elastic waist with my first tutu. I figured that when she gets too big for her tutu, I can always untie the knot that holds it together, and loosen the material a bit to make it wider for her to keep wearing it. And I just loved the idea of having this pretty ribbon bow in the back. BUT THEN I made my second tutu for fun with the advice I found online to use an elastic hair band (the kind they sell in packs anywhere, dollar stores included). I was impressed, it was also very easy and if you have a small and super active child, it’s perfect. Just keep tying your tulle around the hair band, and it is stretchy enough to fit different waists. I used a ribbon at the end, just tied it like the rest of the tulle to the elastic, and made a bow out of it. It was very simple. My daughter is 3.5 y/o, and I decided to make her a tutu with 3 colors. Her waist was 21″ and tutu length 10″. I also wanted a really full and fluffy tutu, and bought 3 rolls total in blue, purple and pale pink. Surprisingly, I managed to make 2 tutus out of these materials, and roughly 60 tulle strips per tutu. Then I bought some white ribbon. Took me 1.5 hours to complete this project with 2 tutus. I think if you are making a longer and much fluffier tutu, you will end up using close to three rolls per one. And without the ribbon it is even cheaper.

I used this tutorial, highly recommended. Simple and easy to understand.

And if you think you still want to use an elastic instead of a ribbon-tie kind, just measure the waist and lose a couple of inches, they say the elastic stretches when you start tying the knots with tulle on it. This should do the trick. GOOD LUCK and have fun!

http://www.alwaysunderpay.com/blog/tutorial-how-to-make-a-tutu/

“6″ X 25 Yd Rolls of Tulle
Grosgrain Ribbon (I used 7/8″ Grosgrain)
Scissors
Scrap Piece of Cardboard

Directions:

Cut a piece of cardboard about the length that you would like your skirt to be, adding an extra inch for tying and fluff factor.

Wrap your tulle around the cardboard lengthwise. I just used the whole roll, so I’m not really sure how many times. But you can err on the side of caution and just do a few passes of each color at once.
Cut the tulle on one side of the cardboard. This will give you pieces twice the length of your skirt. This is good. Don’t panic. They are supposed to be that long.

Once all of your tulle is cut, you can cut your ribbon. Use the waist of the girl you are making the tutu for as a measure. Wrap the ribbon around the waist, then add an extra couple of feet so you’ll have what you need plus enough for tying a nice bow at the end.

Measure about about a foot in (or more if you like) to your ribbon and tie a knot. This is to keep the tool from sliding off of your ribbon. This is the start of the waist on your skirt.

Take two pieces of tool and fold them in half creating a loop. Put the loop in front of the ribbon.
Now take the ends of your tulle up over the ribbon and through the loop. Pull tight. The tighter you pull these knots and push them together, the fuller your skirt will be. If you don’t want it too full, pull your knots a bit looser, but tight enough to stay put.
Continue to tie knots alternating colors as you wish. I just did a four color alternating pattern, but you can do it however you like.

When you think you have enough tulle tied on your skirt, hold it up to your recipient’s waist and make sure you are done. Then tie another knot in that end of the ribbon to hold the tulle in place.

Now you can just tie a pretty bow in the back, and you are set! Voila, easy peasy inexpensive custom made one of a kind tutu!”

Leave a Reply

