Baby-Led Weaning (Introducing solids)

Something I wish I’d known with my first to save myself hours spent on needlessly preparing these mushy things, freezing, spoon-feeding, and now I have myself a very picky eater who just hates food. With my second I chose this route and he started his solids around 8 months, when he clearly indicated he was interested in trying something else besides nursing. No pressure on my side, no forcing him to try things he didn’t want to try, no forced spoon-feedings. But guess what? He eats ANYTHING! I am not even kidding. He loves to eat, period. Definitely something every parent should know.
For more info and tips check here.“Baby Led Weaning, quite simply, means letting your child feed themselves from the very start of weaning.
The distinct advantage of weaning at around six months is that by then, our children are developmentally capable of feeding themselves proper food, in other words – no more mush! You just hand them the food in a suitably-sized piece and if they like it they eat it and if they don’t they won’t.

* re ‘wean’. This is meant in the Brit sense, not the American. In the UK, ‘weaning’ means ‘adding complementary foods’, whereas in the States it means ‘giving up breastfeeding’. Two nations divided by a common language, and all that. In fact, there is even a helpful hands-across-the-ocean translation thread on the subject on the forum, which solves the mystery of what the UK equivalent of the Graham’s Cracker might be. (While we’re on the subject of terminology… if it was up to me, I’d have called this whole thing Baby Self-Feeding, but that ship has sailed, my friends, and Baby-Led Weaning it is.) ”

Leave a Reply

